Gisby's Gaming Blog

August 14, 2016

SPACE 1889: Raptors

I wanted something spectacular and over-the top for my Martian forces, a unit that would inspire both fear and terror, and add a ‘cool unit’ factor to the game.

Since I was already using a lot of Dark Elves for my forces, I opted for the ex-Grenadier  Dark Elf Raptor cavalry, obtained from Forlorn Hope Games. I figured MY Mars would have Raptors.

Imagine my joy: The new SPACE 1889 rules already had Raptors on Mars!

raptorreg

In line, it’s a foot across, and is easily the heaviest unit on the table. I may choose to field it as two six-man units.

raptorreg1

The raptors are quite scary: Well detailed, and supplied randomly with open or closed mouths. The riders have nicely detailed armour that highlights well.

raptorregstd raptorregstd1

I chose a crescent design for the standard, because it mirrors the lunate shields. I copied the raptor markings from a picture on the internet.

raptorregweg

A wedge of raptors, in case a line doesn’t hit hard enough.

raptorregweg1

To be honest, with those tails waving around, a wedge is the easiest formation to rank up other than a line.

1 Comment »

  1. Now those are really impressive and beautifully painted. Gorgeous stuff Gisby.

    Cheers Roger.

    Comment by Roger Webb — August 16, 2016 @ 05:19


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

