Gisby's Gaming Blog

August 19, 2016

SPACE 1889: Imperial Legion

This was the first of my RAFM Martian Legions: It was inspired by a unit Skrapwelder had painted. Before that I wasn’t really a big fan of these figures.

My first attempt at painting the figures wasn’t a success: I painted them as individuals for roleplaying, and modified their weapons, etc. I didn’t like how they turned out, even though it was my fault.

This group I painted as a unit.

They are in fact a new pack from RAFM, and I was a bit worried when I ordered them. The figures are over 25 years old, and they could be using some pretty awful moulds. But no worry, the moulds were great, and the figures were as crisp and clean as they were in 1989.

purple

The set has 19 figures, plus a commander on a Gashant, divided about half-and-half between shooters and cutters. Since I am using TSATF for my big battles, I needed 20 figures per unit.

purplecmd

Thankfully I had plenty of the Martian adventurer from their personalities pack, and I made him into a standard bearer. (His sword blade has been replaced with one made of wire.)

purple3

The big swords and shield gunners protect the command element and are a hard striking force.

purple2

The wings of the unit are made of pole weapons paired with muskets.

purple1

I tried to give the halbardiers better hair, because I wasn’t a fan of the mohawk they had. Better or not, it’s different.

I really like the look as a unit, and I decided to see what more I had in storage…..

2 Comments »

  1. More really nice stuff, I haven’t seen any Rafm figures for ages, my brother in-law used to be friends with the owners over in Canada and they would send him stuff over from time to time. Do you remember Lurpa the Reptiliad football game?

    Cheers Roger.

    Comment by Roger Webb — August 19, 2016 @ 11:24

    • Thanks again Roger, greatly appreciated. I remember Lurpa, and RAFM’s attempts to make it a ‘thing.’ I always liked the Reptiliads, and have a small force of them as German allies on Venus.

      Comment by gisby — August 21, 2016 @ 02:56


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

