Gisby's Gaming Blog

August 26, 2016

SPACE 1889: Black Legion

This was the second of my RAFM Martian Legions. After I painted the first, I decided to check my unpainted figures to see what more I had. I was sure I had a legion and a half unpainted.

I first checked my painted figures. To my surprise I found a legion-and-a-half painted, far more than expected. Not well painted, I really hated them. They were converted to different weapon styles, and painted as individuals. They just didn’t look good.

blackreg

I went to my unpainted pile, and lo and behold, there was still a legion-and-a-half in my unpainted pile. At some point I had picked up another Legion, giving me a total of four.

So I stripped the painted figures, re-armed them to fit in the Legion, and started painting them.

I wanted an elite-in-their-own-opinion unit, dressed in black and red.I was trying for a dramatic look. I’m not sure how successful it was.

blackregcmd

The officer has had his sword replaced with a wire blade, shaped and flattened. The standard bearer is the Martian from the Adventurers pack.

blackreg1

The halberdier has a glaive, made from wire.He was one of the figures converted to wield two swords

blackreg2

The big sword also has a wire blade. I went with a darker steel for their armour, with a darker black wash. (A darker wash, not a darker black, duh)

blackreg3

This halberdier has a cutting spear, also made from wire. This unit seems heavy on figures retrofitted back from my conversions.

The figures look better after retrofitting than they did when converted, and I am overall quite pleased with the results. The red and black looks sort-of-dramatic, and the unit looks good en masse.

Two more units to go!

 

1 Comment »

  1. These again are excellent Gisby, I actually rather tempted to have a go at these myself, though they would have to wait a while as with my limited hobby time, I’ve really got too much on at the moment as it is!

    Cheers Roger.

    Comment by Roger Webb — August 27, 2016 @ 11:51


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

