Gisby's Gaming Blog

December 26, 2016

SPACE 1889: Skirmisher Cavalry

This unit is a bit of a mash-up: It’s made up of ex-Grenadier products from both sides of the pond, and is the result of decades of planning.

tauntaunbo1

Back in the day, Grenadier USA produced various boxed sets, including a set of Traveler beasties, including a rider on a TaunTaun-like beast. (Traveler fans will no doubt know its name, I do not)

Seeing the potential for use in a fantasy army that I never built, I bought several dozen of the beast, and they sat in a box for 25 or so years.

tauntaunbo2

When I started my SPACE 1889 jag, I picked up some Elven horse archers from Forlorn Hope Games, and mounted them on these not-TaunTauns. They make a nice change from Gashants, and are a lot more fun to paint. (Although part of that is my boring paint choice for Gashants)

thoatsw1

I also put Elven cavalry on Ral Partha Hexatrixes, that I use as Thoats. I’ve since finished the unit, but haven’t taken any pictures yet.

thoatsw2

Last of all, we have a Tin Man Miniatures Calot. He looks a bit smug, but he’s a nice figure.

tinmancalot

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

