Gisby's Gaming Blog

March 4, 2017

SPACE 1889: Cavalry

I’ve been making cavalry, from various ex-Grenadier Elves, (from Forlorn Hope Games) and mounts from various companies. I have ‘Thoats’ (Formerly Hexatrixes, bought from Ral  Partha) ‘Tauntauns’ (ex-Grenadier Traveler riding beasts) and Gashants from Rafm. I can’t guarantee the provenence of every one: I bought some from the manufacturers, some from ebay, and some from other 1889 gamers.

gwhero1 gwhero2

A General or champion: A GW Elf from a bargain bin in a comic store many years ago. He’s riding a Thoat and waving a RENEGADE shield. He originally had a spear, that I replaced with a flattened wire sword.

tauntaunbow1tauntaunbow2

Steppe Martian light cavalry. An ex-Grenadier Elf riding an ex-Grenadier riding beast from Traveller. The beast looks like a Tuantuan, so that’s what I’ve been calling it. They’re not bad looking, and the mount is nice and alien looking. This was my first try, I have since finished the unit, but have not yet photographed it.

Because of the angle of the saddle, I had to bend the legs into a more seated position otherwise the rider leaned back in an odd fashion.

gashknight1 gashknight2

Martian heavy cavalry. An ex-Grenadier Elven Knight riding a Gashant. They did not want to fit together. I had to carve away a lot of saddle, and inside the rider’s legs, plus clip the bottom of the surcoat. I have never been a big fan of Gashants, they always looked to me like they would have sore backs. But it’s not so bad after all.

Again, I have since finished the unit, and they don’t look bad at all en masse. The Gashants might look better with designs painted on them, or colourful toucan-style beaks.

1 Comment »

  1. More smashing work Gisby, the cobbling together of bit and pieces from different races and manufacturers is seemless. I actually like the Gashant best, that is one heavy cavalry mount to deal with!

    Cheers Roger.

    Comment by Roger Webb — March 5, 2017 @ 06:31


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

