Gisby's Gaming Blog

August 6, 2017

SPACE 1889: Nomad Cavalry

skyjav5

This unit is made from ex-Grenadier Wood Elf cavalry from Forlorn Hope Games, mounted on ex-Grenadier Traveler riding beasts. (No idea what they called them.) I imagine them as lighter and fleeter than Gashants, performing Light Cavalry duties.

skyjav3

The riders were originally swordsmen, but I replaced the swords with javelins made from floral wire.

skyjav2

I have two units of archers on the same style of beast, they look particularly convincing working together as tribal auxiliaries to my City-State forces.

skyjav1

Their round shields are painted to imitate the lunate shields of several other units. The standard was printed on my computer, using clip art  for the design.

skyjav4

The riding beasts have a charming face, I like to think it hides a nasty disposition.

2 Comments »

  1. Another smashing unit, I love the way you make you spears and swords. The riding beasts are lovely and the faces remind me of Llama’s (and we all know what nasty bu**ers they can be!)

    Cheers Roger.

    Comment by rantingsfromunder — August 7, 2017 @ 13:28

  2. Thanks for the kind words! I like them too, and I think it’s the mounts. They look so earnest. (Or they are gathering spit)

    The spears at least will cut paper unless I file them dull, and more than one upright spear unit has caught someone carelessly reaching over them.

    Comment by gisby — August 7, 2017 @ 15:02


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

